Update: 2020 AACMFS Annual Meeting Cancelled

Dear AACMFS Fellows,

 Once again, I am saddened to announce the cancellation of the AACMFS Annual Meeting scheduled for November 8-9, 2020 in Shreveport, Louisiana. It was our hope that the coronavirus pandemic would have eased by this date to allow us to have our meeting as planned. As you are all aware, that is currently not the case and unlikely to improve within this timeframe. To ensure the safety of our membership, the executive committee and I felt it was necessary to cancel this meeting and proceed with alternative plans.

In the coming days, you will receive a save-the-date email regarding our meeting in 2021 hosted in the home town of Dr. Ramon Ruiz. Our plan is to combine content from the 2020 and 2021 meetings accommodating keynote speakers and new abstract submissions into an expanded format for the June 2021 meeting. Authors with previously accepted abstracts will be contacted in order to confirm their interest to present in 2021. In addition, new abstracts are will now be accepted through the new deadline of February 1, 2021.

This decision brings me great sadness as I feel the meeting in Shreveport would have been a wonderful experience for all of us and all the hard work the AACMFS staff put in to plan this meeting will go unfulfilled. Moreover, I will miss the opportunity to host my colleagues, mentors and friends in my adopted hometown, which is one of the great privileges of the AACMFS Presidency.

Finally, though the Presidency of the AACMFS normally changes hands at the annual meeting, our bylaws stipulate that the term of the President end after one calendar year. Therefore, as of this moment, Dr. Ramon Ruiz will ascend to the Presidency and I will move on to the position of Immediate Past-President. The other officers of the executive committee will also ascend into their respective positions and the Trustee for Craniomaxillofacial Reconstructive Surgery will ascend into the executive committee as follows:

  • Rui Fernandes – President Elect
  • Timothy Turvey – Treasurer
  • Sean Edwards – Secretary

It has been my pleasure to serve as the AACMFS President this past year even with the unfathomable challenges that has affected our association and country as a whole. Though our association will miss our annual meeting, our connection as surgeons, educators and researchers has never been stronger and I’m sure we will pick up where left off next year in Orlando.


D. David Kim, DMD, MD, FACS
Immediate Past President, AACMFS

Fellows Flap Course Major Success

With generous financial and logistical support from KLS Martin, L.P. the AACMFS launched its first flagship educational program targeted at fellows in Head and Neck Microvascular Reconstructive Surgery. The two day course, held at KLS Martin World – North America was Directed by Rui Fernandes, MD, DMD, FACS and attended by residents, fellows and faculty from around the nation.

The course, focused on free tissue transfer using the hands on cadaver facilities in the new “state of the art” educational complex. Participants were mentored in their dissections by AACMFS faculty representing a number of the fellowship programs from around the nation.

Participants came away with a greater appreciation for both the technical aspects of the procedures and for the mission of the AACMFS. Recent graduates were encouraged to join as post-graduate fellows and gather with us in Shreveport in May.  The course was deemed a major success is already scheduled to be repeated in the coming year.

Dental Anesthesiology Recognized As Dental Specialty

ADA has announced that dental anesthesiology has become “the 10th dental specialty recognized by the National Commission on Recognition of Dental Specialties and Certifying Boards.” On March 11, the National Commission “adopted a resolution based on an application from the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists to recognize dental anesthesiology as a dental specialty.” 

Dr. James Tom, president of the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists, said, “This historic vote by the National Commission certainly reflects the ADA’s ongoing efforts towards improved patient care and safety in the areas of dental sedation, dental anesthesiology and access for those with special health care needs.” 

In addition to dental anesthesiology, other recognized dental specialties include dental public health, endodontics, oral and maxillofacial pathology, oral and maxillofacial radiology, oral and maxillofacial surgery, orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics, pediatric dentistry, periodontics, and prosthodontics.

AACMFS Match Website

Dear Fellows,

Consistent with the mission and vision of the AACMFS related to education and training, we are pleased to announce the creation of an AAMFS Match process for applicants to fellowship programs. The AACMFS Match is replacing the successful MORSMATCH for Oral/Head and Neck Oncologic and Reconstructive Surgery as well as creating a new match for fellowships in Pediatric Craniomaxillofacial Surgery (Cleft and Craniofacial Surgery).

The AACMFS Match website can be viewed at AACMFSMATCH.org. You can also look forward to a presentation at the annual business meeting regarding the match history and future. We express appreciation for the AACMFS Match transition committee listed below who has completed this work and will continue to provide oversight:

  • Dr. Fayette Williams, Chair
  • Dr. Rui Fernandez
  • Dr. David Kim
  • Dr. Ramon Ruiz
  • Dr. John Caccamese


Brent B. Ward, DDS, MD, FACS
Executive Director, AACMFS